West Virginia requires a business license from all companies, small businesses and corporations who want to register for business in the state. Business licenses can involve application fees, and must be kept up to date with renewals.
How much is a business license in West Virginia? Business licenses in West Virginia costs anything from $30 to $50 for a company license, and more for registering a Limited Liability Corporation. West Virginia requires a business license for all companies who want to operate in this state.
All West Virginia-based business must apply for their business license before they are allowed to trade in the state. The same applies to businesses who trade only online, or ones who only operate a West Virginia branch with a main location elsewhere in the state.
West Virginia Business Licenses
One of the most important requirements for legal business in West Virginia is the sales tax license and business license. All companies and small businesses will need to register for a business license before they are allowed to trade in this state.
Business license registration in West Virginia can carry different costs depending on the type of license that is being registered for. Some licenses start at $30 to $50 to register, while other companies like an LLC could cost more.
West Virginia business licenses can take up to 14 days to approve, although applications that are made at a physical office can take longer – and might take as long as a month for approval.
Once a West Virginia business license has been approved, a temporary license becomes available to the business while a physical copy ships to the company in the meantime.
Other permits might be required by West Virginia for specific businesses: food, beverage, liquor and entertainment permits are some permit types that will still require a basic business license to register for.
A West Virginia business license is valid for a period of at least one year after it has been applied for. There are some exceptions, and business licenses will have to be renewed manually by the applicant either on or before the renewal date.
Late renewals could be charged late fees, and businesses who continue to trade without a business license could be shut down for noncompliance with state law.
Renewals and initial business license registrations can be done online through the West Virginia state portal, but also through physical licensing offices. Applications that are done in person will take longer to process.
Without a business license in place, West Virginia companies could be fined by the state and closed until their licenses have been brought up to date. Serious fines are involved for any West Virginia companies who open without their documentation in place.
Types of Business Licenses
|An LLC License||Limited Liability Corporations hold less shareholder responsibility for business “negatives” like debt. It costs more to register for than a small business in West Virginia.|
|A General Operating License||General operating licenses are another name for business licenses that all businesses in West Virginia will require for tax compliance.|
|A Food License||Food licenses are a specific type of permit that is only needed for businesses who trade in or sell food-related items. Basic business licenses are still necessary first.|
|A Nonprofit||Charities and not-for-profit companies can register for this specific permit. The process is similar, but it requires a different form than a regular business license.|
West Virginia Business Facts
• All businesses who want to operate a main location or branch in West Virginia must register for their business license and sales tax certificate first.
• Most West Virginia business licenses are valid for at least 1 year after they have been approved, and must be renewed manually through an online portal or the main West Virginia website.
• Companies cannot operate without a basic business license in West Virginia, and might be closed according to law if they do not comply with regulations.
• License applications and permit renewals can be made online or through a physical West Virginia business office.
How long does a business license in West Virginia take?
Business license registration in West Virginia can take anything from 14 days through to a month to be processed. Online applications are recommended, because they are much faster than ones made at a West Virginia office.
When does a business license in West Virginia expire?
Most West Virginia business licenses are valid for a period of at least 1 year after they have been approved, though there are exceptions to the rule.
Can business licenses be rejected?
Licenses and renewals can be rejected if any information on the forms are incorrect. Fees must accompany an application, or the license application might also be rejected by the system.
Where can I apply for a business license in West Virginia?
Business licenses can be renewed or applied for through the official state site portal, or offline at the office closest to where the business intends to register.
What if my business license is delayed?
Delays in the process can happen if the application was made at a busy time of the year or online.
Business Licenses Registered in West Virginia
West Virginia business licenses are a legal requirement for all types of businesses in the state. Even ones who trade online or sell services instead of products will have to register for a license to trade here.
The final cost of a West Virginia business license can differ: it will depend on the type of business that is being registered for. Limited Liability Corporations can cost more than a basic business license in West Virginia, for example.
Without a business license, any West Virginia business license could be closed down and faced with high faces. Non-renewals are considered just as illegal as trading without a license in West Virginia.
Here are the business license costs in other states: