All businesses within New Hampshire require a business license in order to trade legally and pay taxes to the state. There are some minor differences to business registration in New Hampshire, including the lack of a state-wide license.
How much is a business license in New Hampshire? New Hampshire business license registrations can cost $50 and up for initial registration, though special companies like an LLC can cost up to $100 to $150 to register in this state. Business license costs in New Hampshire can vary, since there is no general business license or permit for the whole state.
Most states in the United States require a business license for tax compliance, but New Hampshire relies on individual licenses and permits from each town rather than a single license that covers the whole state. Companies in New Hampshire have to register with their city or town instead.
Business License Registration in New Hampshire
New Hampshire businesses all need to register for a business license with their city before they are allowed to buy, sell or pay tax to the state.
There are a couple of differences that set New Hampshire apart from other states where licenses are necessary.
New Hampshire doesn’t carry a single business license for the whole state. Businesses who want to register within New Hampshire will have to seek out the office or site of their city or town to register.
Business license applications in New Hampshire can vary depending on the type of business registered, and might also depend on the town in which the registration is done.
New Hampshire business license applications can cost anything from $50 and up, with special licenses automatically a higher cost.
Most New Hampshire city business licenses are valid for at least 1 year after they have been applied for. There are exceptions, and renewal is up to the business owner as New Hampshire licenses and permits will not renew automatically.
New Hampshire business license applications can be expected to process in a period of 2 to 4 weeks. Online applications are faster and recommended by New Hampshire resources for speed.
Special licenses could be required in New Hampshire for businesses with other requirements. Food, liquor and entertainment are three separate business license types that could be necessary to trade in this state.
Business licenses in New Hampshire must be renewed either on or before the stated deadline. If not, the business could face late fees or closure in extreme circumstances.
Without a business license, New Hampshire businesses could be closed until their permits have been brought up to date. New Hampshire state could also bring additional fines against any business owners found to be operating without a license.
New Hampshire business licenses, renewals and permits can be applied for online or at a physical office within the relevant city where the business intends to operate.
How long does a business license in New Hampshire take?
Business licenses in New Hampshire can take 2 to 4 weeks to process. Physical applications might take longer than ones that are made online through a representative office.
When does a business license in New Hampshire expire?
Most New Hampshire city licenses are valid for a period of one year after their approval date. Business licenses in New Hampshire will not renew automatically, but must be done either before or on the stated deadline.
How do I register for a nonprofit license in New Hampshire?
Nonprofit licenses are separate from basic business licenses in New Hampshire, but can be registered through the same office or web portal. The registration process is similar, but with no fees and different forms.
Where can I apply for a business license in New Hampshire?
The best way to apply for a New Hampshire business license is online, but it can also be done through the office of the relevant city or state in which the business wants to operate from.
What if my business license is delayed?
Delays can be normal if the application was made at a busy time of the year, or through a physical office instead of online. State resources recommend a follow up after 31 days if nothing has been received.
Types of Business Licenses
|An LLC or Company||An LLC in New Hampshire requires separate registration from other businesses, and could cost more to register depending on your state.|
|A General Operating License||A general operating license is another name for a business license. It is required for all businesses who want to operate within New Hampshire.|
|A Food License||Food licenses will only apply to business that sell or trade in food-related items. A basic business license is still required first.|
NH Business Facts
• The state of New Hampshire has made applications and renewals easy through all online city portals connected to the state.
• All businesses who want to operate an office or branch in New Hampshire will require a business license.
• Operating without a business license in the state of New Hampshire is illegal.
• There is no general business license for the state of New Hampshire, but individual licenses for each city or state.
New Hampshire Business License Registration
All New Hampshire businesses require a business license to trade within the state’s law, but there is no whole state-wide business license. New Hampshire businesses have to register for licenses and permits with their city instead.
Most New Hampshire business licenses will remain valid for a period of 1 year after their approval date, though there are exceptions. Licenses in New Hampshire have to be renewed automatically, and there might be involved fines if they are not.
New Hampshire requires city-level registration from all businesses to remain tax compliant, even if they conduct most of their operations online.
Here are the business license costs in other states: