Business licenses are an important legal requirement for all small businesses, companies and corporations who want to operate within the state of Virginia. Licenses in Virginia can be applied for at the nearest local office, or through an easier and faster online application form.
How much is a business license in Virginia? Companies and small business registrations in Virginia cost $35, but larger corporations and shareholder-based companies can expect to pay up to $300 for a Virginia business license. Virginia business license costs can differ and it will depend on the type of business that is being registered.
All companies, corporations and small businesses who want to operate within the state of Virginia will need to register for their basic business license first. Business licenses ensure that a business is tax compliant and operating legally: without one, a Virginia business is not.
Business Registration in Virginia
Business registration is one of the most important aspects of opening a business or branch in the state of Virginia. A business license is necessary for legal business in this state, and being without it is considered a violation of state law.
All companies, businesses and small businesses have to register for a business license to trade legally.
Business licenses can be registered for at a local license office, or through an online registration form that takes just a few minutes to complete.
Virginia business license costs can vary depending on the type of business that is being registered. The cost of a business license in Virginia is approximately $30 and up, though corporations and LLCs can cost several hundred dollars to register with the state.
Once applied for, a Virginia-based business license can take up to 14 days to be approved. A temporary copy is available to the business from approval, while a physical copy will ship to the applicant in the mail.
Some specific business types can require other permits to operate, such as food permits or liquor licenses: the type of business has to be stated on the form for the application to be guaranteed valid.
The majority of Virginia business licenses are valid for at least 2 years after they have been approved. Renewal is not automatic in Virginia like some other states, but have to be done manually at a local office or online.
Renewal fees might apply, though are not the same for all types of Virginia licenses and permits. Applicants are encouraged to check with their closest office.
All Virginia businesses need a business license to operate and remain compliant with tax laws in the state.
In the absence of a business license, a company could be forced to shut down until their registration has been brought up to date. Additional fines can be brought against businesses found to be without a license.
Types of Business Licenses
|An LLC License||An LLC license is a specific type of business license that only Limited Liability Corporations will need. Registration fees for an LLC can be higher.|
|A General Operating License||A general operating license is another name for a business license, which all legal businesses in Virginia require.|
|A Food License||Food licenses are a special type of license that not all businesses need to operate, but some might.|
|A Nonprofit||Nonprofit licenses cover charities and not-for-profit companies, registered for separately in the state of Virginia.|
³ All Virginia businesses require license registration, even ones who sell online or deal mostly in services instead of products.
³ Businesses found to be operating without a business license could be closed and fined by the state.
³ Up to 90% of all businesses in Virginia are small or single-owner businesses.
³ Virginia business licenses can be registered for through the local office or closest online web portal for a quicker process.
How long does a business license in Virginia take?
Business license registration in Virginia can take up to 14 days to be approved, though physical license applications are likely to take a little longer than this.
When does a business license in Virginia expire?
The majority of business licenses and permits will expire within a period of 2 years from their approval date. Virginia business licenses do not renew automatically, but have to be done before or on the expiry date.
What happens with an expired license in Virginia?
Businesses who renew outside the deadline could be faced with late fees, but companies who continue to trade under an expired license could be forced to shut and be additionally fined.
How do I register for a nonprofit license in Virginia?
Nonprofit licenses can be registered for through the same channels as business licenses, but require a different form.
Where can I apply for a business license in Virginia?
The fastest way to apply for a Virginia business license is through the official online portal for the state: application forms are available. Physical applications are also possible, but will take longer to process and approve.
What if my business license is delayed?
Business license applications can be delayed if the application was made in person or at a busy time of year. Follow up when no notification has been received for more than 14 days.
Virginia License Registration for Businesses
All Virginia companies, corporations and small businesses require a business license to remain tax compliant and trade legally in this state.
Without a Virginia business license, companies face the potential of fines or closure by state authorities. Companies in Virginia cannot operate within the law without a legal business license.
Even if a company requires other licenses or permits from the state, basic business licenses should be registered for first.
Most Virginia business licenses are valid for a period of 2 years after they have been approved. Renewals are not automatic like some states, but have to be done manually.
Here are the business license costs in other states: