New Jersey requires a business license from any business types who want to operate a main office or branch within the state, but there is no general New Jersey business license. Companies in New Jersey must register with the individual NJ city where the business intends to operate.
How much is a business license in New Jersey? The cost of a basic business license application in New Jersey can be up to $150 depending on the city. Business licenses are available at city-level in New Jersey, and cannot be applied for as a whole-state license. Special license applications like an LLC could cost more to register in most New Jersey jurisdictions.
There are a couple of differences that set New Jersey apart from other states when it comes to business registration. New Jersey carries no general license for tax and sales in the entire state, but city licenses are issued by each individual area – and individuals have to apply for their NJ business license locally.
Business License Registration in New Jersey
Business licenses in New Jersey work differently to some other states in the US: there is no general tax sales permit or business license for the whole state, but individual city licenses instead.
A business who wants to trade in New Jersey has to approach their local city office, or visit the relevant online portal. Without registration, New Jersey businesses operate outside the legal framework of the state – and could be closed, fined or charged.
Business license registration costs can differ from one New Jersey town to the next. General licenses cost approximately $150 in most locations, though can be higher or lower. Special licenses like an LLC are charged higher registration fees.
A New Jersey business license remains valid for a period of 1 year after it has been approved. Renewals will have to be filed either before or on the state date to be considered valid – and if not, late fees might apply.
Basic licenses are required to pay tax and trade in most New Jersey locations. Additional licenses can apply for some businesses, such as food, beverage or entertainment companies.
Separate licenses are available for LLCs, and might cost more than the standard city business license. Individual rates are available from the city office.
No business is allowed to trade in the state of New Jersey without relevant licenses.
A business that trades without a license in New Jersey could be shut by the state, or face high fines for noncompliance with state law.
Business licenses are one of the most important business-related documents to trade in New Jersey. Even when other licenses are necessary for the business, most will require their basic business license first,
A New Jersey business license application can take 2 to 4 weeks to process, though online applications are processed much faster. A follow up is recommended with the relevant registration portal or office after 4 weeks.
Most business licenses are valid for the period of 1 year after they have been approved. Each license will state its expiry date: it’s up to the business to check whether their licenses are still within the legal time.
Business license renewals must be done either on or before the deadline stated on the license. Businesses who miss a renewal deadline in New Jersey could be charged late fees, or forced to shut operations until their license has been updated.
How long does a business license in New Jersey take?
New Jersey business licenses can take anything from 2 to 4 weeks to be processed. Online applications are faster, though physical applications can be individual to the workload of the city registration department.
When does a business license in New Jersey expire?
New Jersey business licenses remain valid for a period of 1 year from their approval date. There are exceptions, and business owners should check their individual license dates.
What can happen without a New Jersey business license?
Business licenses are an important legal requirement for businesses who want to operate a branch from or within New Jersey. Those who don’t could be forced to shut until their licenses have been updated, or charged with massive fines.
How do I register for a nonprofit license in New Jersey?
Nonprofit licenses in New Jersey can be registered with an individual city office just like business registration licenses, but have different forms (and sometimes, fees).
Where can I apply for a business license in New Jersey?
The best way to apply for a New Jersey business license is via the online portal of the relevant city where the company will be based. Online applications are faster, though applications can also be made at a local representative office.
What if my business license is delayed?
Business licenses in most cities should process within 2 to 4 weeks: delays might happen due to individual state department workloads, or at busy times of the year.
Types of Licenses
|An LLC or Company||A Limited Liability Corporation is a specific type of business that has to be registered separately in New Jersey.|
|A General Operating License||A general operating license is the name for a basic business license, required for all businesses who want to trade in NJ.|
|A Food License||Food licenses are a specific type of business license that’s only necessary for NJ businesses who buy, sell or trade in food-related items.|
|A Nonprofit||A nonprofit license has to be registered for separate from a regular business license in NJ.|
NJ Business Facts
• New Jersey has more than 200, 000 small businesses currently licensed.
• NJ is ranked as one of the top states to start a business.
• Small businesses account for at least 90% of business registrations in New Jersey.
Getting a Business License Registration in New Jersey
New Jersey requires a license from any companies who want to do business from or within the state.
All businesses will require a basic business license, whether they trade online or sell through a physical location.
Here are the business license costs in other states: