Business licenses are an important legal requirement for all businesses who want to operate within the state of Utah. Applications and renewals for Utah licenses or permits are easy to do online, or through the nearest physical representative office.
How much is a business license in Utah? Business licenses in Utah can cost anything from $22 to $52 in application fees. The cost of a business license in Utah can be different depending on the type of business that it being registered. Specific companies like an LLC could cost more.
Utah require that all businesses who want to operate in this state register for a basic business license. Other permits might be required by the state if the type of business is more specific than sales, such as food, beverages, liquor, entertainment or an LLC.
Legal Business Licenses in Utah
A business license is required by all companies, businesses or brands who want to open their doors in the state of Utah. Business licenses are a requirement for sales and tax-related reasons – and without it, business is technically illegal.
Most business types in Utah will require a business license to trade, including online businesses, services, LLCs and single-owner small businesses.
Utah companies can register for their business license through the online portal utah.gov or visit a physical office for application forms.
The cost of a basic business license in Utah varies from one business type to the next. Utah business license costs can vary from $22 to $52, depending on the type of permit being applied for. Certain registrations like an LLC might cost more.
Business license registrations in Utah can take a few days to as long as 2 weeks to process. Online applications are recommended, and faster than any permit applications made at a physical office.
Once a Utah business license is approved, a physical certificate ships to the company while an online temporary copy becomes available to print.
Business licenses in Utah remain valid for a period of 1 year after the approval date. After expiry, business licenses in Utah must be renewed manually by the person who applied for the original license – automatic renewal does not happen in Utah.
Applications must be accompanied by the relevant fees to be considered valid. All fees paid for Utah business licenses are nonrefundable, even if the application is unsuccessful or rejected.
Utah requires a business license from all companies who want to operate a branch or main location in this state.
Without an up to date business license, Utah companies face fines and potential closure for not complying with the law.
Types of Business Licenses
|An LLC or Company||An LLC or Limited Liability Corporation is a specific type of business license that might cost more to register for in Utah.|
|A General Operating License||A general operating license is another name for the business license, which all companies and corporations in Utah will need.|
|A Food License||Food licenses are only required for companies who trade in or provide food-related items. Only specific businesses will need one.|
|A Nonprofit||Nonprofit licenses are required for charities and not-for-profit organizations. These are registered for with a different form, but a similar process.|
Utah License Facts
• Small business makes up more than 90% of the total businesses who operate from and within Utah.
• All businesses require a business license to remain legal in Utah state.
• Businesses who do not comply with registration or renewal could be hit with large fines and potentially closed by state authorities.
• Business licenses can be applied for through the online Utah website portal.
How long does a business license in Utah take?
A Utah business license can be approved in just a few days through the online application portal. Physical applications can take longer, and might take up to 2 weeks.
When does a business license in Utah expire?
Business licenses in Utah remain valid for 1 year after the approval date. Licenses will not renew automatically like some other states, but must be done with a renewal form and relevant fees.
How do I register for a nonprofit license in Utah?
Nonprofit licenses are only necessary for nonprofit companies and organizations. In Utah, these can be registered for with a separate form.
Where can I apply for a business license in Utah?
The Utah website portal is the best place to apply for a business license, recommended because it’s faster. Physical applications are also possible, but carry a longer processing time.
What if my business license is delayed?
Business licenses might be delayed if the application was made at a busy time of the year, but physical applications are also known to take longer.
Getting a Utah Business License
All businesses who want to operate from within the state of Utah will require a tax license and basic business certificate.
Without a business license in place, Utah authorities can fine or close noncompliant companies. Companies found noncompliant will have to pay fines and register legally before they are allowed to trade
The cost of a Utah business license varies from $22 to $52 depending on the type of business being registered for. LLCs and additional permits could carry higher registration fees.
The state of Utah ensures an easy application process online, or at the representative office closest to where the business intends to register.
Online business licenses can be approved in just a couple of days, while physical applications are likely to take longer than this. Delays might happen at busy times of the year thanks to an overload of applications.
Renewals must be done within 1 year of most license approvals, though the individual expiry date of some Utah sales and business permits can differ. All renewals can be done through the same office or website portal as initial registration.
Here are the business license costs in other states: