New Mexico is one of the best states to apply for a business license, but there are differences in the registration process that means licensing in New Mexico works differently to other states. There is no state-wide business license for New Mexico, but individual sales certificates granted by each city.
How much is a business license in New Mexico? New Mexico business licenses cost a minimum of $35 to apply for, though costs can vary between the different cities and license types. There is no general business license for the whole state of New Mexico. Instead, a business who wants to register in New Mexico has to approach their individual city of intended business for a local license.
A general New Mexico business license is an essential requirement to legally do business and pay tax for the state, but New Mexico does things differently. Licenses to operate in New Mexico are issued by the city or town licensing office, and not by the whole New Mexico state. All New Mexico businesses must approach their closest city website or office to apply.
Business License Registration in New Mexico State
The state of New Mexico requires all businesses to register with their individual city authority. Business licenses are an important legal requirement for businesses to remain tax-compliant within this state.
A New Mexico business license application can be made through the closest city office, or via its relevant online application form. Online applications are recommended by New Mexico state resources, as they can process much faster than physical applications.
The cost of a New Mexico business license begins at $35: costs might increase in certain areas of New Mexico, and could also be higher for any additional licenses that are not the basic business license. In some New Mexico cities, added administration costs could apply.
Most New Mexico business licenses remain valid for the period of one year after their approval. Unlike some other states, business licenses in New Mexico will not renew automatically – businesses are advised to check the validity of their application throughout the year.
A business license in New Mexico can take as little as 5 days, but might also take up to 14 to be processed. Processing time depends on the office and application method – online applications are automatically quicker.
Other licenses could be required to operate in New Mexico for specific business types. Liquor and food permits are two additional licenses that might apply, and have to be registered for separately from the business license with each city.
Business licenses are one of the most important legal requirements in New Mexico. No business is allowed to operate without one, and businesses found to be without their licenses could be fined and closed down.
Types of Business Licenses
|An LLC or Company||A Limited Liability Corporation is a specific type of business license that can carry higher costs to register in most New Mexico cities.|
|A General Operating License||A general operating license or business license is required by-city for all businesses within New Mexico.|
|A Food License||Food licenses apply only to businesses who deal in food-related items.|
New Mexico Business Facts
• New Mexico has no general business license for the entire state, but instead by-city licenses for companies who want to trade in this state.
• All business license fees are considered non-refundable in most New Mexico cities, even for unsuccessful or rejected license applications.
• Without a business license, businesses could face fines or closure by New Mexico authorities.
• Most New Mexico business licenses remain valid for a period of 1 year after they have been approved, and must be renewed on or before the expiration date.
How long does a business license in New Mexico take?
Business licenses in most New Mexico cities can take between 5 to 14 days to be processed. Online applications are faster, though physical office applications could be subject to further delays.
When does a business license in New Mexico expire?
New Mexico business licenses will expire one year after their validity date. It is the applicant’s responsibility to check whether their license is still valid – and also theirs to make sure it gets renewed on time.
How do I register for a nonprofit license in New Mexico?
Nonprofit registrations can be done through the same online portal or physical channel as regular business licenses, but will need a different form to apply for.
What happens without a business license in New Mexico?
Business licenses are an important requirement for all legal businesses. Without a business license, companies operate under the law – and could be shut down by the state until their licenses have been renewed. Additional fines are likely to apply.
What if my business license is delayed?
Delays are normal at busy times of the year, or when applications have been made at a physical New Mexico city office rather than online. Follow up any applications that take longer than 31 days without feedback.
New Mexico Business License Registration
All businesses who want to operate a main office or branch in New Mexico will need at least a business license to do it. New Mexico doesn’t carry a general business license like most other states, but instead by-city permits and licenses have to be applied for.
A general business license in most New Mexico cities can cost anything from $35 and up, though can depend on the city and its stated cost. Business licenses can take up to 14 days to process once they have been applied for.
Most business licenses in New Mexico will remain valid for a period of 1 year, though there are exceptions in some cities. Businesses are encouraged to check their individual expiry dates for each license.
All license fees are non-refundable.
Here are the business license costs in other states: