Vermont requires a business license from all small business, companies and corporations who want to do business within or from Vermont. Without a business license, Vermont businesses could be fined and forced to close.
How much is a business license in Vermont? Vermont business licenses can cost up to $125 in application fees, though specific business like LLC and permits (like liquor or food) can carry different fees. Applications can be made online, or at a relevant Vermont business licensing office.
One of the most important documents for business in Vermont is the business license. Business licenses allow a company to pay tax to the state, and trade legally – but without one, they could be forced to close by state authorities until their licenses are up to date.
Getting a Vermont Business License
In Vermont, a business license and sales tax certificate are basic requirements for any company who wants to operate within the state. Companies who only want to operate a branch or only sell online will also need a business license in Vermont: most companies do.
The cost of a business license in Vermont is approximately $125, but the cost can differ for specific license applications like an LLC or food, liquor and entertainment permit.
Applications for a Vermont business license can be made online or at the nearest office to where the business intends to be located. Online license applications can process in just a few days, while physical applications can take up to 2 weeks.
A temporary Vermont business license is issued once the permit has been approved. In the meantime, a physical copy of the certificate will ship to the business.
Most business licenses and permits in Vermont are valid for a period of 2 years after their approval date. License renewals are not automatic in Vermont, and will have to be done by the same person who applied for the initial business registration.
Other permits might be required for specific businesses, but most companies will require a basic business license to trade even if they need other permits. Guidance is available through state resources if help is necessary to complete the application.
Application and renewal fees are non-refundable in Vermont. It’s the same thing even if the application has been unsuccessful or rejected.
Businesses are not allowed to trade without their basic business license and additional required permits.
Any Vermont businesses that are found to be without licenses could face closure – and further, be hit with fines from the state for noncompliance.
Types of Business Licenses
|An LLC License||A Limited Liability Corporation license is a specific type of business license that carries a higher cost (though some specific benefits) to register.|
|A General Operating License||General operating licenses are another term for basic business licenses, required for all companies who want to trade in Vermont.|
|A Food License||Food licenses are a special type of permit that only some Vermont businesses might need. A basic business license is still a first requirement.|
|A Nonprofit||Charities and not-for-profit organizations register through the same process, but with a different form.|
• Small businesses make up more than 80% of the total Vermont economy.
• All businesses require a business license to trade legally and remain compliant with tax laws in the state of Vermont.
• Vermont business licenses are valid for a period of 2 years from approval, though some individual permits have a different expiration date.
• Renewals and applications can be done through the online Vermont registration portal, but also at any physical representative office.
How long does a business license in Vermont take?
Vermont business licenses can take anything from a few days when applied for online to two weeks when the application was lodged at a physical office.
When does a business license in Vermont expire?
Most Vermont business licenses remain valid for a period of 2 years after their approval date, although there are differences from one type of license to the next.
How do I register for a nonprofit license in Vermont?
Nonprofit licenses in Vermont can be applied for through the same office or website as regular business permits.
Can a business license application be rejected?
An application can be rejected anywhere the information on the form isn’t correct, or the form isn’t accompanied by the relevant fees. Requirements are stated clearly, but help is available for anyone who requires help with the forms.
Where can I apply for a business license in Vermont?
Business license applications can be lodged at the official state portal for Vermont, but also at the office nearest to the business.
Registration for Businesses in Vermont
Business registration in Vermont is easy through the relevant online portal or physical office. An application should take just a few minutes, and can be approved within just a few days.
Without a business license, a Vermont business could face closure by the state or potential heavy fines on top of this. No business in Vermont can operate legally without their paperwork in order.
Most Vermont business licenses are valid for at least 2 years from the application date. There are some license types that have to be renewed sooner than this, but each permit will state its own expiration date.
Vermont business licenses will not renew automatically. Renewals can be done through the same office as the initial application, and must be done before or on the deadline stated on the permit.
Renewals that miss the deadline could be subject to late fees. Any companies who continue to trade without a license in Vermont are considered noncompliant.
Without a legal license, Vermont businesses face closure until their licenses have been brought up to date. Even businesses who claim they were not aware of local legislature can be fined or closed in Vermont.
Here are the business license costs in other states: